We regret to inform you that Stogursey C of E Primary School has had to close due to positive COVID-19 cases amongst the school community. School will not re-open until the September 2021 term.


Welcome to the Stogursey CE School Local Governing Committee

The Committee is co-chaired by Anna Hammond, elected parent Governor and Teresa Miller, MAT appointed Governor. The vice chair is Anthony Chetland. We are all committed to every aspect of school life and are working hard to ensure that we meet our responsibilities of holding the Head of School to account, ensuring financial probity and being involved in shaping the strategic vision of the school.

Anna has been involved with the school since 2008, a Governor since 2010, and elected to chair in 2013. She has two children, one left Stogursey school in 2015 to go to Haygrove and her youngest is currently in Beacon Class. Anna manages the meetings and business side of the role of being chair.

Teresa was co-opted to the governing body in 2014. She has a background in teaching and special needs education. Teresa meets more regularly with members of the school team. Both co-chairs can be contacted through the school office.

Anthony Chetland is a Foundation Governor, and has been a governor since 2017. He is Vice Chair with special responsibility for Church School distinctiveness. He is also a parent of three children who have attended the school, with the older two now at Haygrove School.

The following table shows the responsibilities of individual Governors. Minutes of meetings are available on the website, once they have been ratified, or paper copies are held in the school office and can be read on request.

Pauline Kaye, clerk to the Local governing committee can be contacted by email, pkaye@educ.somerset.gov.uk


Term of Office

Appointing Body

Position and responsibilities

Anna Hammond

4 years from 25th October 2018

Elected Parent

Co-chair of Governors

Chair of finance sub-committee

Teresa Miller

4 years from 23rd October 2019

MAT appointed

Co-chair of Governors



Anthony Chetland

4 years from 7th March 2021


Vice-chair of Governors

Church school distinctiveness Wellbeing 

Gary Tucker

From Easter 2019

Local Governing Committee

Head of School

Louise Day

4 years from 11th July 2019

Elected Staff Governor


Caroline Hawkes

4 years from 7th November 2019


Early Years & Foundation Stage 

Looked after children

Pupil Premium

Relationships and Sex Education

Finance Committee

Jackie Stone

4 years from 14th October 2019


Health and Safety

Finance Committee

Pupil Premium

Online Safety


Rev Canon Chris Moorsom

4 years from 25th August  2020


Church school distinctiveness

Rev Stephen Campbell

4 years from 25th August  2020


Church school distinctiveness

Finance committee

Bernie Maskell

4 years from September 2020

Elected parent (Co-opted)






Pauline Kaye

Clerk to Governors




 Governor Meetings
Governor Attendance at LGC Meetings
Information to follow.
Approved and Signed Minutes for Local Governance Ccommittee Meetings for the Academic year 2020 - 21
Approved and Signed Minutes from Local Governance Committee Meetings for Academic Year 2019 to 2020
Approved & Signed Minutes of Full Board of Governors' Meetings for Academic Year 2018 - 2019